Concours South Africa 2019

Vic and Gerhard Camper Overall Winners 2019 Ferrari Dino

Vic and Gerhard Camper Overall Winners 2019 Ferrari Dino

It hasn’t taken long for Concours South Africa at Steyn City to become an important fixture on the classic car calendar. And no surprise, when you consider the cars competing for the overall crown this year.

Contestants started arriving on Friday, off-loading and registering their vehicles at the Steyn City entrance, before driving in convoy to their final parking spots.

Graham Duxbury and Basil Green

Graham Duxbury and Basil Green

Friday's activities closed with the induction of Basil Green and Graham Duxbury into the South African Hall of Fame. 

Saturday the judging panel had 15 minutes with each car, looking at overall condition, originality etc.

Later in the afternoon, the judges announced the top 12 that would go through to the final round (to be judged, again, on Sunday). The final 12 were;

·         1961 Mercedes-Benz 300 SL Roadster (Franco Scribante)

·         1992 Opel Kadett 2.0 GSi 16v Superboss (Gavin Roberts)

·         1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS (John Sayers)

·         1990 BMW 325iS (Raveen Sewchand Ramlakan)

·         1973 Porsche 911T (Timothy Abbot)

·         1982 Ford Cortina XR6 (Wynand Mulder)

·         1956 Porsche 356 (Matthew Kreeve)

·         1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia "Step Nose" (Neville Forssman)

·         1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint (Neville Forssman)

·         1965 MGB Roadster (Thys Venter)

·         1957 VW Type 2 Split-Window (Wynand - Generation Old School)

·         1971 Dino 246 GT (Vic Campher)

Concours SA 2019 (34).jpg

Sunday’s perfect weather set the scene for the annual classic-car gathering which blended collector vehicles with stylish fashion, and sumptuous food and fine wines. Bringing further glamour to the event, Carolyn Steyn was on hand to award Best Dressed Lady to Lizelia Wort for her chic garden-party elegance.

Just after lunch, it was time for the announcement of the winners. In third place was Neville Forssman's beautiful Giulietta Sprint, second went to a crowd favorite, the BMW 325is of Raveen Sewchand Ramlakan and the winner... the beautifully turned-out Dino 246 GT of the Campher brothers.

“The level of competition was extraordinarily high,” said chief Concours judge Marius Malherbe. “So much so that the top 10 — selected for final judging — became a top 12.”

1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint

1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint

In the "Show 'n Shine" category it was Gordon Johnstone's 2005 Maserati Gran Sport that emerged victorious, while Class 1B was won by Roger Martin's Jaguar SS 2.5 Saloon, with Class 2A scooped by the very well-prepared 1957 VW Kombi Type 2 from Generation Old School. In Class 2B it was that beautiful 356A of Matthew Kreeve that came out tops while Raveen Sewchand Ramlakan's E30 325iS was the best of the SA specials.

Roll on Concours SA 2020...

Concours SA 2019 (40).jpg